Youth Tour

2018 Youth Tour

Randi Lee Troglin, Mt. View- Gotebo High School, Maggie Green, Weatherford High School, Autumn Foster, Weatherford High School, & Jantzen Griswold, Southwest Covenant, recently returned from the Annual Rural Electric Cooperative Youth Tour in Washington, D.C. These students won the week-long trip through the 2017 Youth Tour contest, sponsored by CKenergy.

On Friday, June 9th, a banquet was held for the 70 winners, representing 25 of the state’s rural electric systems. The tour departed for the nation’s Capitol early the next morning. 

The students spent the week touring the musuems and visiting all of the historical monuments. In addition to visiting the musuems and monuments, the Oklahoma winners toured Mount Vernon, The U.S. Capitol, the Pentagon, Ford’s Theatre, enjoyed a riverboat cruise on the Potomac River, and they also spent time with winners from other states at NRECA’s Youth Day. Students also met with Congressman Markwayne Mullin and his wife while he gave a private tour of the Nation’s Capitol Building. Senator Inhofe and Congressman Frank Lucas joined the students in the Longworth House office building and discussed current issues at the federal and state level.

Included with their trip to Washington, D.C., the students sponsored by CKEC will receive a $500 scholarship that is valid at any Oklahoma college, university, or technical college.

P.O. Box 70 Binger, OK 73009
Phone: (405) 656-2322
Fax: (405) 656-2327

CKenergy is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

©2018 CKenergy Electric Cooperative, Inc. All Rights Reserved.